Article ID: kb10127Last Modified: 16-Oct-2026

Target Volume Does Not Support Windows Deduplication (code 2050)

Situation

A restore plan finishes with the following warning: Target volume does not support Windows deduplication. Failed to restore some files from disk with Windows deduplication to a disk that does not support Windows deduplication. {0} files were not restored.

Cause

This occurs if the target disk does not support deduplication. Data Deduplication helps to reduce costs that are associated with duplicated data. Duplicated portions of the volume's dataset are stored once and are (optionally) compressed for additional savings. These duplicated portions cannot be restored to a target that does not support deduplication.

Solutions

  • View history to receive a list of files that were not restored. If these files are not needed, no action is required.
  • Enable deduplication on the selected target volume
  • Edit the restore plan to add another volume with enabled deduplication as the target volume

Enable Deduplication on Selected Target Volume

Refer to the following Microsoft Article for instructions on how to enable deduplication on the selected volume.

Edit Restore Plan to Select Volume with Supported Deduplication

To edit the restore plan in the Management Console, proceed as follows:

  1. On Computers, select Remote Management if you use the legacy main menu, or open Backup > Computers page in the new main menu.
  2. Find the required computer, then click the Configure icon in the Backup Plan Status column.
  3. On the side panel, expand the plan you want to edit, then click Edit.
  4. Make the required changes on the Destination step of the Restore wizard, then click Save.

To edit the restore plan in Backup Agent, proceed as follows:

  1. Open Backup Agent.
  2. Switch to the Backup Storage tab.
  3. Find the required plan and click the Edit icon.
  4. Make the required changes on the Destination step of the Restore wizard, then proceed with the wizard. On the Summary step, view the restore plan configuration to make sure everything is set up correctly. Select the Run the plan now check box to run the plan immediately or leave it unselected and click Finish to run the plan later.